Arts & Culture Commission Agendas

Date:
2nd Wednesday of every month
Time:
5:30 PM
Place:
Hale Building
175 N. Garfield Ave.,
Pasadena CA 91109

Contact Information

Staff Rep:
Patrisia De La Torre – pdelatorre@cityofpasadena.net
Phone:
(626) 744-7062
Mailing Address:
Hale Building
175 N. Garfield Ave.,
Pasadena CA 91109
Submission Due Date
Arts & Culture Commission Meeting Date
Thursday, December 21, 2017 @ 3 PM
Wednesday, January 10, 2018 @ 5:30 PM
Wednesday, February 14, 2018 @ 3 PM
Wednesday, February 14, 2018 @ 5:30 PM
Wednesday, March 14, 2018 @ 3 PM
Wednesday, March 14, 2018 @ 5:30 PM
Wednesday, April 11, 2018 @ 3 PM
Wednesday, April 11, 2018 @ 5:30 PM
Wednesday, May 16, 2018 @ 3 PM
Wednesday, May 9, 2018 @ 5:30 PM
Wednesday, June 13, 2018 @ 3 PM
Wednesday, June 13, 2018 @ 5:30 PM
Wednesday, July 11, 2018 @ 3 PM
Wednesday, July 11, 2018 @ 5:30 PM
Wednesday, August 15, 2018 @ 3 PM
Wednesday, August 8, 2018 @ 5:30 PM
Wednesday, September 12, 2018 @ 3 PM
Wednesday, September 12, 2018 @ 5:30 PM
Wednesday, October 17, 2018 @ 3 PM
Wednesday, October 10, 2018 @ 5:30 PM
Wednesday, November 14, 2018 @ 3 PM
Wednesday, November 14, 2018 @ 5:30 PM
Wednesday, December 12, 2018 @ 3 PM
Wednesday, December 12, 2018 @ 5:30 PM

Composition

9 members. 1 appointed by each of the 7 Councilmembers and the Mayor. The Mayor shall nominate one member from persons recommended by the other 7 Councilmembers. Pasadena residency required. Members required to file annual Statement of Economic Interest.

Description

The Commission shall advise the City Council on matters pertaining to the City’s arts and cultural program which shall: foster public and private partnerships for providing arts and cultural programs for the youth of Pasadena; promote access for the public to the highest quality arts opportunities possible; promote the work of artists and art groups and celebrate the City for its ethnic diversity, creativity, and its leadership in arts and culture; provide grants-in-aid to individual and group artists, cultural groups, and arts organizations; encourage the provision of cultural and artistic facilities and features in public and commercial construction. The Commission shall appoint highly qualified peer panels for specified time periods to: select public art and art in public places; review and evaluate requests for funding; and advise the Commission on the allocation of funds from the Cultural Trust Fund.

Term of Office

3 years. Limited to 2 consecutive terms.