Birth and Death Records

The Pasadena Vital Records Office maintains birth and death records for events occurring in Pasadena.

We currently have birth records dating back to 1960; and death records dating back to 1993.  To obtain copies of records that occurred before 1960 for birth and 1993 for death, contact the Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder at (562) 462-2137 or visit their website at www.lavote.net.

 

Contact Information

Vital Records Office
1845 N. Fair Oaks Ave, Rm 1610
Pasadena, CA 91103
Map & Directions»

Phone: (626) 744-6010 (Tel)

Search Public Health Directory


Hours:

Monday – Thursday 8 am – 5pm

Birth Records

A certified copy of a birth record is required to obtain a driver’s license, passport, social security card and other services related to an individual’s identity.

Fee: $28 per copy

Learn more

Death Records

A certified copy of a death record may be required to obtain death benefits, claim insurance proceeds, notify social security and obtain other services related to an individual’s identity.

Fee: $21 per copy
(Fetal Death Fee: $18.00 per copy)

Learn more

Funeral Homes & Mortuaries

Download important forms for applications, forms and after-hours filing.

Learn more

Out-of-Hospital Births

Home or Out-of-Hospital births may only be registered in our office BY APPOINTMENT. The birth must have occurred within the city limits of Pasadena.

Learn more

Paternity Program

The Paternity Opportunity Program (POP) is a State-mandated Child Support Services Department local program whose purpose is to provide the opportunity for voluntary paternity acknowledgment for children born out of wedlock.

Learn more

Marriage Licenses

For marriage license information, please contact the County of Los Angeles Registrar-Recorder at (562) 462-2137 or the State of California at (916) 445-2684.

Learn more

Birth Records

Birth Records

There are two types of certified copies available upon request, certified copy and certified informational copy. Both types of documents are certified copies of the original document on file with our office.  Depending on the exact year of event, some certified informational copies will have signatures and social security numbers removed.

  1. Certified Copy (available to authorized persons only) requests must:
  • Complete the sworn statement declaring under penalty of perjury that you are authorized by law to receive the certified copy (see application for list of authorized individuals).
  • Complete in the presence of Pasadena Vital Records staff.
  1. Certified Informational Copy (available to any interested person)
  • If you cannot obtain an authorized copy under California law, you can obtain an informational certified copy. A certified informational copy has a legend printed on the face of the document that states, “Informational.  Not a valid document to establish identity.”
  • You do not need to provide a sworn statement.

Who can get an Authorized Certified Copy of a Birth Certificate?

  • The person listed on the certificate (registrant) or a parent or legal guardian of the registrant. (Legal guardian must provide documentation.)
  • A party entitled to receive the record as a result of a court order or an attorney or a licensed adoption agency seeking the birth record in order to comply with the requirements of Section 3140 or 7603 of the Family Code. (A court order copy is required.)
  • A member of a law enforcement agency or a representative of another governmental agency, as provided by law, who is conducting official business. (Companies representing a government agency must provide authorization from the government agency.)
  • A child, grandparent, grandchild, brother or sister, spouse or domestic partner of the registrant.
  • An attorney representing the registrant or the registrant’s estate, or any person or agency empowered by statute or appointed by a court to act on behalf of the registrant or the registrant’s estate.
  • Appointed rights in a power of attorney, or an executor of the registrant’s estate. (Please include a copy of the power of attorney, or supporting documentation identifying you as executor with the application.)

Effective July 1, 2015, Assembly Bill 1733 states that each local registrar or county recorder is mandated to issue a birth record without fee to an eligible homeless person, or homeless child or youth.  Eligible persons must present an affidavit signed by an agent for a homeless services provider to receive a fee-exempt copy.  Completed affidavits should be taken at face value and processed the same as sworn statements when applicants sign under penalty of perjury.   County vital records offices are not responsible for verifying if a homeless services provider is legitimate.

Apostille
If the country to which you are traveling requires an Apostille or Certification; you must obtain a certified copy of the record from the Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder. The California Secretary of State will only provide authentication of the County Clerk or Recorder’s signature.   To obtain copies of these records, contact the Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder at (562) 462-2137 or visit their website at www.lavote.net.

In-Person Request

Birth Certificate applications can be submitted in-person Monday through Thursday from 8am to 5pm.

Download and complete the Birth Certificate Application Form prior to coming in.

Birth certificates will be available for pick-up the next day.  Records that are not picked up the next day will be mailed out after 5 business days. Same day service is available for current records at an additional charge of $10.00. Same day requests must be received by 4:00pm (Monday-Thursday). Please call (626) 744-6010 for more information.

If you request that the certificate be mailed to you, we will process the application and mail it within 5 business days from the date of receipt. Certified mail service is available for an additional fee of $15.00.

INFORMATION REQUIRED

  • Applicant must show a valid picture identification; such as a driver’s license or passport
  • Full name of the person as it appears on the birth certificate
  • Date of birth
  • Place of birth
  • Mother’s full maiden name
  • Also useful but not required is father’s full name.

HOW TO APPLY

  • Applicant must complete a Birth Certificate Application Form.
  • Applicant must show a VALID Picture ID; such as a driver’s license or passport.
  • Applicant must complete and sign the Sworn Statement in the presence of Pasadena Vital Records staff.
  • Applicant must pay the $28 fee per copy requested.

We accept payment by cash, money order, cashier’s check, Visa, Master MasterCard, American Express, Discover, debit card or personal check.  Bank-printed personal checks must include the requestor’s street address.  Please make checks payable to Pasadena Public Health Department.

Pursuant to California State Code 103650, the fee for any search of the files and records for a specific record when no certified copy is made shall be paid in advance by the applicant.  If a record is not located, the fees for the birth record will be retained as payment for a record search.

Application and fee should be brought in-person to:

Pasadena Public Health Department
Vital Records Office
1845 North Fair Oaks Avenue, Room 1610
Pasadena, CA 91103

If you have any questions, please contact our Customer Service at (626) 744-6010, Monday through Thursday, between 8am – 5pm.

Mail In Request

Download and complete the Birth Certificate Application Form. The application must be signed in the presence of a notary public.

Mail the application, sworn statement, and fee to:

Pasadena Public Health Department
Vital Records
1845 North Fair Oaks Avenue, Room 1610
Pasadena, CA 91103

Once your request has been received and evaluated:

  • If your request is not accepted (for example, due to insufficient fees, insufficient information, etc.), we will return your request to you with a letter explaining what needs to be corrected; or,
  • If your request is accepted, we will process the application and mail out a copy of the certificate(s) you requested.

Please allow 2 to 3 weeks to receive your documents. The processing time begins when we receive your request.  Requests will be mailed within 7 business days.

Pursuant to California State Code 103650 the fee for any search of the files and records for a specific record when no certified copy is made shall be paid in advance by the applicant. If a record is not located, the fees for the birth record will be retained as payment for a record search.

Please submit check or money order.  Please do not send cash.  Bank-printed personal checks must include the requestor’s street address.  Please make checks payable to Pasadena Public Health Department.

The Office of Vital Records cannot be held responsible for fees paid in cash that are lost, misdirected, or undelivered.

Express Service

Express service is available for requests sent by mail to our office for an additional fee. You must send an additional $30.00 in a separate check or money order for each application. Clearly note “Express Service” on the front of your mailing envelope and include a stamped self-addressed envelope. The express fee is per application and it is in addition to the $28.00 fee per certified copy.  Your Express Service order will be processed the day it is received and the certificate will be mailed back via regular mail service.  The stamped self-addressed envelope that the customer encloses with the application will determine how and when the customer actually receives the document.

Please submit checks or money orders payable to Pasadena Public Health Department.  We do not provide Express Service for mail service outside the continental U.S.  Please call (626) 744-6010 for more information.

Certified mail service is available for an additional fee of $15.00.

Births Outside of the City of Pasadena

For records of births that have occurred outside of the City of Pasadena, please contact the County of Los Angeles Registrar-Recorder at (562) 462-2137 or the State of California at (916) 445-2684.

Death Records

Death Records

There are two types of certified copies available upon request, certified copy and certified informational copy. Depending on the exact year of event, some certified informational copies will have signatures and social security numbers removed.

  1. Certified Copy (available to authorized persons only) requests must:
  • Complete the sworn statement declaring under penalty of perjury that you are authorized by law to receive the certified copy (see application for list of authorized individuals).
  • Complete in the presence of Pasadena Vital Records staff.
  1. Certified Informational Copy (available to any interested person)
  • If you cannot obtain an authorized copy under California law, you can obtain an informational certified copy. A certified informational copy has a legend printed on the face of the document that states, “Informational.  Not a valid document to establish identity.”
  • You do not need to provide a sworn statement.

Pursuant to California Health and Safety Code Section 103526 only specific individuals are allowed to receive an authorized copy of a death certificate. A certified copy of a death record may be required to obtain death benefits, claim insurance proceeds, notify social security and obtain other services related to an individual’s identity. Please see below for list of authorized individuals.

Who Can Get an Authorized Certified Copy of Death Certificate?

  • A parent or legal guardian of the registrant. (Legal guardian must provide documentation.)
  • A party entitled to receive the record as a result of a court order. (A court order copy is required.)
  • A member of a law enforcement agency or a representative of another governmental agency, as provided by law, who is conducting official business. (Companies representing a government agency must provide authorization from the government agency.)
  • A child, grandparent, grandchild, brother or sister, spouse or domestic partner of the registrant.
  • An attorney representing the registrant or the registrant’s estate, or any person or agency empowered by statute or appointed by a court to act on behalf of the registrant or the registrant’s estate. (If you are requesting a Certified Copy under a power of attorney, please include a copy of the power of attorney with the application form.)
  • Any agent or employee of a funeral establishment who acts within the course and scope of his or her employment who orders certified copies of a death certificate on behalf of any individual specified in paragraphs (1) to (5), inclusive, of subdivision (a) of Section 7100 of the Health and Safety Code.
  • Appointed rights in a power of attorney, or an executor of the registrant’s estate. (Please include a copy of the power of attorney, or supporting documentation identifying you as executor with the application.)

Apostille
There are countries that require an Apostille or Certification, if you need this then you must obtain a certified copy of the record from the Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder. The California Secretary of State will only provide authentication of the County Clerk or Recorder’s signature.   To obtain copies of these records, contact the Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder at (562) 462-2137 or visit their website at www.lavote.net.

In-Person Request

Death Certificate applications can be submitted in-person Monday through Thursday from 8am to 5pm.

Death certificates will be available for pick-up the next day.  Records that are not picked up the next day will be mailed out after 5 business days. Same day service is available for current records at an additional charge of $10.00. Same day requests must be received by 4:00pm (Monday-Thursday). Please call (626) 744-6010 for more information.

If you request that the certificate be mailed to you, we will process the application and mail it within 5 business days from the date of receipt. Certified mail service is available for an additional fee of $15.00.

INFORMATION REQUIRED

  • Applicant must show a valid picture identification; such as a driver’s license or passport
  • Full name of the person as it appears on the Death Certificate
  • Date of death
  • Place of death
  • Mother’s full maiden name
  • Also useful but not required is father’s full name.

HOW TO APPLY

  • Applicant must complete a Death Certificate Application.
  • Applicant must show a valid picture identification; such as a driver’s license or passport.
  • Applicant must complete and sign the Sworn Statement in the presence of Pasadena Vital Records staff.
  • Applicant must pay the $21 fee per copy requested. 

We accept payment by cash, money order, cashier’s check, Visa, Master MasterCard, American Express, Discover, debit card or personal check.  Bank-printed personal checks must include the requestor’s street address.  Please make checks payable to Pasadena Public Health Department.

Pursuant to California State Code 103650, the fee for any search of the files and records for a specific record when no certified copy is made shall be paid in advance by the applicant.  If a record is not located, the fees for the death record will be retained as payment for a record search.

Application and fee should be brought in person to:

Pasadena Public Health Department
Vital Records Office
1845 North Fair Oaks Avenue, Room 1610
Pasadena, CA 91103

If you have any questions, please contact our Customer Service at (626) 744-6010, Monday through Thursday, between 8am – 5pm.

Mail In Request

Download and complete the Birth Certificate Application Form. The application must be signed in the presence of a notary public. 

Mail the application, sworn statement, and fee to:

Pasadena Public Health Department
Vital Records
1845 North Fair Oaks Avenue, Room 1610
Pasadena, CA 91103

Once your request has been received and evaluated:

  • If your request is not accepted (for example, due to insufficient fees, insufficient information, etc.), we will return your request to you with a letter explaining what needs to be corrected; or,
  • If your request is accepted, we will process the application and mail out a copy of the certificate(s) you requested.

Please allow 2 to 3 weeks to receive your documents. The processing time begins when we receive your request.  Requests will be mailed within 7 business days.

Pursuant to California State Code 103650 the fee for any search of the files and records for a specific record when no certified copy is made shall be paid in advance by the applicant. If a record is not located, the fees for the birth record will be retained as payment for a record search.

Please submit check or money order.  Please do not send cash.   Bank-printed personal checks must include the requestor’s street address.  Please make checks payable to Pasadena Public Health Department.

The Office of Vital Records cannot be held responsible for fees paid in cash that are lost, misdirected, or undelivered.

Application and fee should be mailed to:

Pasadena Public Health Department
Vital Records
1845 North Fair Oaks Avenue, Room 1610
Pasadena, CA 91103

If you have any questions, please contact our Customer Service at (626) 744-6010, Monday through Thursday, between 8am – 5pm.

Express Service

Express service is available for requests sent by mail to our office for an additional fee. You must send an additional $30.00 in a separate check or money order for each application. Clearly note “Express Service” on the front of your mailing envelope and include a stamped self-addressed envelope. The express fee is per application and it is in addition to the $28.00 fee per certified copy.  Your Express Service order will be processed the day it is received and the certificate will be mailed back via regular mail service.  The stamped self-addressed envelope that the customer encloses with the application will determine how and when the customer actually receives the document.

Please submit checks or money orders payable to Pasadena Public Health Department.  We do not provide Express Service for mail service outside the continental U.S.  Please call (626) 744-6010 for more information.

Certified mail service is available for an additional fee of $15.00.

Death Outside the City

For records of deaths that have occurred outside of the City of Pasadena, please contact the Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder at (562) 462-2137 or the State of California at (916) 445-2684.

Funeral Homes and Mortuaries

Funeral Homes and Mortuaries

Burial, Removal, and Transit Permits

The burial permit fee is $12.00.

To apply for a Burial, Removal, and Transit Permits, please contact the Vital Records Office at (626) 744-6052.

If you are a current EDRS user, please use the EDRS system to create the permits and contact the Vital Records Office at (626) 744-6052.

After-Hours Death Certificate Filing

Regular business hours are Monday through Thursday, 8:00 am to 4:30 pm and every other Friday, 8:00 am to 4:00 pm.  A fee will be charged for services related to death certificate filing on closed Fridays and Saturdays in the amount of $50.00 per transaction.

After-hours service request(s) must be submitted by fax to (626) 291-0899 from 8:00 AM -2:00 PM on closed Fridays and Saturdays. We will no longer accept requests for service on holidays (see City Holiday Schedule).

While we understand there is little control in most circumstances, we encourage you to submit non-urgent death certificate requests during regular business hours.  Fees are due at the time payment is rendered for the requested service(s).

California Electronic Death Registration System (CA-EDRS)

EDRS Filing Hours: Available Monday through Thursday from 8:00 am to 4:30 pm; every other Friday 8:00 to 4:00 pm, excluding holidays.

Emergency (After-Hours) Filing: On-call service is available on closed Fridays and Saturdays from 8 am to 2pm.  Please fax requests to (626) 291-0899.  The after-hours service fee is $50.00 per transaction.

The Health Department is closed every other Friday of each month in addition to City holidays.  Please see below for an individual listing of City holidays and closed Fridays.

View City Calendar

 

Out-of-Hospital Births

Out of Hospital Births

Home or Out-of-hospital births may only be registered in our office by appointment.  Please gather all the necessary documentation prior to scheduling an appointment with us.  The birth must have occurred within the City of Pasadena.  For births which occurred outside of Pasadena city limits, please contact the Los Angeles County Public Health Department directly.

A fee is applied if you do not register within the child’s first year.  Any birth registered on or after the child’s first birthday must be processed by the California Department of Public Health Office of Vital Records as a Delayed Registration of Birth.

In order to register Out-of-Hospital or Home Births, all five criteria must be met:

  1. Identity of the parent(s)
  2. Pregnancy of the mother
  3. Infant was born alive
  4. Birth occurred in the City of Pasadena
  5. Identity of the witness

For more detail on these criteria, please see pdf fillable Out-of-Hospital Birth Packet.

Please contact the Vital Records Office at (626) 744-6010 for an appointment.

Paternity Opportunity Program

Paternity Opportunity Program

The Paternity Opportunity Program (POP) is a State mandated Child Support Services Department local program whose purpose is to provide the opportunity for voluntary paternity acknowledgment for children born out of wedlock.

A Declaration of Paternity form is used to legally establish the father (paternity) of a child when the mother and the father are not married to each other.  Both parents must agree to sign the Declaration of Paternity form. It should be signed by the biological mother only if she is not married.  It may be signed by the biological father regardless of his marital status.  Signing the Declaration of Paternity is a voluntary act, and by doing so you will be giving up some rights that you may have, including the right to a court trial to decide the issue of paternity.   For detailed and complete information about your rights, please refer to the Declaration of Paternity form or consult an attorney.  The form is available at our office.

Once you complete the Declaration, it must be registered with The Department of Child Support Services. You will need to submit a photocopy of the Declaration to the CDPH-VR office (with the VS22 form) to add the father to your child’s birth certificate.

For more information about establishing paternity, contact the California Department of Child Support Services, Paternity Opportunity Program (POP) by telephone at (916) 464-1982 or (toll free) at 866- 249-0773; e-mail to askpop@dcss.ca.gov; or visit their website at: www.childsup.ca.gov/resources/establishpaternity.aspx

FAQ

Frequently Asked Questions

Q: What birth and death records are available?

A: We currently have birth records back to 1960.  We currently have death records back to 1993.  To obtain copies of records that occurred before 1960 for birth and 1993 for death, contact the Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder at (562) 462-2137 or visit their website at www.lavote.net

Q: What if the birth or death occurred outside the city of Pasadena?

A: The Pasadena Vital Records Office does not maintain records for births or deaths occurring outside the City of Pasadena.  Records for events that did not occur in the City of Pasadena but took place in Los Angeles County may be obtained from the Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder. To obtain copies of these records, contact the Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder at (562) 462-2137 or visit their website at www.lavote.net

Q: How do I make changes to a birth record?

A: An amendment can be submitted directly to the California Department of Public Health-Vital Records (CDPH-VR)  to correct spelling errors, add information to blank items, and correct the spelling of parents’ names or correct statistical information (i.e., birth date error).

Amendments cannot be used to completely change a first, middle or last name without a court order. More information can be obtained by going to the CDPH-VR website or calling their customer service at (916) 445-2684.  Forms for amending a birth record are available at our office.

Q: Is there a charge for returned checks?

A: Yes, there is a $35.00 fee for each returned check.

Q: How can I add the father’s name to my child’s birth certificate (when father’s name field is blank)?

A: There are different ways to add a father’s

  1. By completing the Declaration of Paternity – You must comply with few requirements in order to do this process:  the person to be listed as “father”, must be the biological father; the mother must not be married to anyone else; and the father needs to be willing to be listed as such. The Declaration of Paternity process was created to facilitate those parents who are willing to add the father’s name without the need to go through a court process. Therefore, if the father is refusing to sign the Declaration of Paternity, the only way to establish paternity will be through a court process by performing a DNA test and obtaining a court order for adding the father’s name to it. Contact any Family Court for more detailed
  2. By court order – You must obtain a court order authorizing you to add the father’s name to the
  3. By marriage – If the parents got married after the child’s birth certificate was created and the father’s name was not listed on it, you may choose just to amend the record by completing the form, Acknowledgement of Paternity (VS22), and submitting it with a copy of the marriage license or certificate to the California Office of Vital Records in Sacramento, CA.

Q: I want to change the name on the Birth Certificate.  What should I do?

A: A court order is necessary to change any part of a baby/person’s name or any part of the parents’ names except for adding a middle name (refer to the last paragraph of this section).  Contact the Los Angeles County Superior Court – Family Division at:

Los Angeles Superior Court

110 N Grand Ave Ste 126

Los Angeles, CA 90012

(213) 253-0515
http://www.lacourt.org/division/familylaw/familylaw.aspx

A certified copy of the Court Order, the $23 fee, and a completed Amendment to Reflect a Court Order Change of Name form must be sent to the California Department of Public Health-Vital Records (CDPH-VR). Visit their website at www.cdph.ca.gov.  A copy of the amended Certificate will be forwarded to you as part of the fee.  The Amendment form is available at our office or at any local California registrar’s office.

Adding an infant’s middle name when there is no middle name will not require a court order.  However, you must fill out the Affidavit to Amend a Record form (VS-24) that is available at our office or any local California registrar’s office.  Send the completed form to the California Department of Public Health-Vital Records.  If the change occurs after one year from date of birth, you must also include the $23 fee to make the change and obtain a copy of the amended Birth record.